US Department of Education Investigates Five States for Banning Schools from Requiring Masks

Sep 11, 2021 | Covid-19

The US Department of Education has opened civil rights investigations into five states for policies banning school districts from requiring masks.

Letters were sent to education officials in Iowa, South Carolina, Utah, Oklahoma and Tennessee, all of which bar local districts from mandating masks. The US Department of Education alleges that these states may be preventing districts from meeting the needs of students with disabilities who are at heightened risk for severe illness should they contract the coronavirus.